Book Cake Tag

 

This tag was originally posted by suddenlylorna on YouTube – it’s a great video so you should check it out!

 

 

Self-Raising Flour: A book that was slow to start but picked up later

Although I completely adore these books, I’m going to go with the Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo. I found the first few chapters of Shadow and Bone to be a lot more serious and dry than the majority of the series. Saying that, when I hit the 50 page mark I flew threw it and couldn’t put it, or the rest of the series, down at all.

 

Margerine – A book with a really rich plot

The first thing that came to mind here was His Dark Materials by Phillip Pullman. I’ve read and reread this trilogy over and over again, and it still amazes me how beautiful and dangerous and fantastic his universe and story are – even when a large chunk of it takes place in modern day Oxford. It’s something wholly original and avoids so many fantasy tropes that this is a stand out for me in terms of the richness of plot.

 

Eggs – A book you thought was going to be bad but turned out to be good

Purely because I don’t usually enjoy YA romances – especially ones with protagonists as seemingly twee as Lara Jean – I honestly thought I would hate To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han, but I picked it up because so many people were raving about it on Tumblr. I was sucked in immediately and was really charmed by Lara Jean and her family, and it was such a lovely and easy book to read.

 

Sugar – A very sweet book

Hands down this had to go to Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz. It’s such a gorgeous romance, and although the plot was in some ways predictable, the prose and characters were wonderfully original and it had completely melted my heart by the end. It was also lovely to read an LGBTQ+ romance with a wholesome happy ending!

 

Icing – A book that had everything you enjoy in a good novel

Despite wanting to say the enitre Harry Potter series, I’d have to go for  Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling. This has always been my favourite book of the series, probably because all of the characters begin to be rounded out a bit more as they grow up, it’s the introduction of the Marauders and it has an intrigue that isn’t necessarily there in the other books in the series. Plus Hippogriffs.

 

Sprinkles – A book or series you turn to for a pick-me-up

I always love flying through The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkein. I have so  many different editions of this book, and although I love The Lord of the Rings it’s not exactly a series I can quickly get through to make myself feel better. The Hobbit is just a fun, light book (aside from the ending – but I can just pretend that it doesn’t happen) and is a great escape into Middle Earth on a bad day.

 

Cherry on top – Favourite book so far this year

I’ve got to say this book simply because I rave about it to anyone who’ll listen – Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur. This book of poetry was like being hit in the chest with a ton of bricks, and in the half hour it took me to read it I was in tears on almost every page. Although a difficult and heartbreaking read, it’s a fantastically eye-opening book, and is something that I’d go far as to say everyone, regardless of gender, needs to read.

 

Because I’m posting this on both WordPress and Tumblr I have people I’d want to tag on both platforms, so instead I’m tagging everyone who wants to do it!

1 thought on “Book Cake Tag”

  1. I love the titles of all these books!!!! I love anything to do with cake, that means words or food. I’m going to try and read one of these.
    Thx for posting this. I’m following you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

