Why We’re Not Buying Valentine’s Day Gifts This Year

As January is finally drawing to a close, almost every shop on the high street right now is filled with red and pink Valentine’s displays. With giant A3 cards, pointless teddy bears, flowers that won’t last the week, and ‘sexy’ lingerie being advertised to ‘give him a night to remember’ (don’t even get me started on how awful these campaigns are) staring out of shop windows, I suggested that this year, the boyfriend and I take a break from buying each other cards and presents.

Luckily this year, the boyfriend has been able to get the 14th off from work, and it falls on a day where I don’t need to be at university, so the fact that we’d already be spending the day together got me thinking about what I really want to spend my money on. We’ve planned a day out in Leeds to go to their Valentine’s Fair, with lunch at our favourite sushi place, then home to a bottle of wine and a film. In my head I had already started adding: with the cost of rides, a nice lunch, and petrol money, that’s already double what I would normally spend on a gift and card!

Not only that, neither myself nor the boyfriend has anything we particularly want at the moment – so not only is there the upfront cost on top of our day out, but also we’d just be bringing more clutter into the house for the sake of giving. After some thought (and I small initial protest of ‘but IΒ likeΒ getting presents!’) we decided that the day would be much more enjoyable if we spent the money from presents and a card on food, activities, and a rare day off together.

Have you done anything to cut costs with your partner this Valentine’s Day? Let me know in the comments!

 

2 thoughts on “Why We’re Not Buying Valentine’s Day Gifts This Year”

  1. My partner and I haven’t celebrated Valentines day i the 4 years we have been together. Although I’m not massively against the Day or the meaning of it…I can not bare the thought of the tacky novelty gifts and cards that get thrown away a week later and thought of going to a ram packed restaurant of oooey gooey couples drooling over each other freaks me out! So for us this year it’s a nice dinner at home and we’ll probably tell each other ‘I love you’ just as much as we do every day!

    I hope you and yours have a lovely day out together! Love your blog, have started following it πŸ™‚ xoxo

    Like

    1. I’m exactly the same! This is our third Valentines Day together, and until now we’ve spent all of them inside with film and PJs rather than dinner out (but with gifts and cards as well). It’s felt so nice to take the pressure off and to spend the money on a day together rather than presents we feel obligated to give. Hope you have a great day together!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

